[Song Review] Boyfriend – 약속할게 (To my Bestfriend)

[Another post that has taken more than 2 weeks to write – apologies] It has been so long since we’ve had Boyfriend on the scene. Bounce continues to be a catchy personal favourite in my opinion but then…. not much for ages.

Boyfriend announced the release of this song to commemorate their 5th anniversary, and it is a song completely for their fans. I’m glad they are back but it took me a bit by surprise. Not only did I not even hear the news (have Starship been pushing Monsta X a lot more?) but also because I had just got used to the edgy, high-energy and mysterious side of Boyfriend, yet here we have a song that is the complete opposite. We are starting to throw back to the Boyfriend of 4 or 5 years ago. This song is not quite a ballad, but a sweet and innocent homage to the fans (I like my boy groups a little rough around the edges – what does that say about me? I don’t know). I think the sentiment is lovely, but this is not what I was expecting (or even hoping for) in terms of a Boyfriend comeback.

Don’t get me wrong, I actually quite like the song – it just doesn’t feel like the Boyfriend I was getting to know in recent years. I listen to this song and I clutch my heart slightly as the chorus is so jolly and turns the edges of my mouth up into a smile. I find it a very likeable song, even if it doesn’t feel like a hit. What I like the most about it is the MV. There is no real pretence in the video whatsoever, and there is no need for there to be. It is just the boys having fun by the sea – showing off their personalities and the fun side to them, which we rarely get to see from a music video. The concept here was – go out and have some fun. And that just reinforces how fan-dedicated this song is. Everything here was done for the fans. And for me, thats the nicest part of this release.

 My verdict: 6/10 – Not my favourite song that Boyfriend have ever released but I like the idea of a song and MV created completely for the fans. The chorus is cute and catchy and it does make me smile. Doesn’t have the longevity in this day to compete with other boy group tracks at the moment.

Leave a Reply

