[Song Review] SHINee – 1 of 1

My bias group are BACK! And back with a vengeance they are, with an album that I cannot turn off. SHINee are back with a 90s concept that can be evident throughout all their concept photos, music video and music. The whole album rings with a throwback kind of vibe and takes me right back to my youth, with the garage beats interspersed throughout the album.

‘1 of 1’ is their title track as well as the name of the album and you will be left feeling like you have popped up in the late 80s/early 90s, with the bass drum heavy beat synonymous with that era, as well as the other backing instruments of that era. Even the arrangement of the song itself is very 90s with the slowed down, stripped back bridge and adlibs in the final chorus. The vocals are as strong as ever and, as with every SHINee song, it is not lacking in energy, passion and dedication. This is such an upbeat track you will not be able to stop yourself from dancing to it – even shimmying your shoulders. SHINee, of course, are quite a visual group, and as such their MV does not disappoint. The colours, the outfits, the dancers – it all comes together to produce a captivating music video with choreography that is just so typically SHINee, despite the 90s feel.

My verdict: 10/10 – I cannot turn this off. I also can’t stop myself from singing it out loud everywhere I go and from dancing non-stop. This concept was such a good idea and if there was anyone that was going to pull it off, it was certainly SHINee – the boys who are not afraid to try new concepts. This song will get you on your feet for the autumn and have you dancing the cold away. Get your roll-neck jumpers out because ‘SHINee’s back’.

Album Note: Top tracks for me = ‘Prism’ – an upbeat garage sound and excellent intro to the new concept. ‘Feel Good’ – the choral style pre-chorus hits me every time. ‘Don’t Let Me Go’ – a ballad that doesn’t feel like a ballad? Each member has a strong part in it and Key’s rap lines have me startled – Vocals on point.

FINALLY – I want everyone to bear witness to the weird and wonderful SHINee so please watch the video below if you can spare a few moments. I want you to know why they are my bias group. Stick the subtitles on, I promise you won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

